Human Resources Department

Beth Baldwin | Director | (208) 496-1706 | baldwinb@byui.edu 
Brecca Ponce | Student Employment | (208) 496-1714 | ponceb@byui.edu 
Brian Tuttle | Benefits | (208) 496-1711 | tuttleb@byui.edu 
Bryan Ellis | Employee Relations | (208) 496-1707 | ellisbr@byui.edu 
Jen Craner | Student Employment | (208) 496-1708 |cranerj@byui.edu 
Jess Hanks | Faculty Employment | (208) 496-1725 | hanksje@byui.edu 
Justin Cardon | Administrative and Staff Employment | (208) 496-1700 | cardonj@byui.edu  
Mari Ann Birch | Faculty Employment | (208) 496-1140 | birchm@byui.edu 
Patrick Powell | Training and Development | (208) 496-1709 | powellp@byui.edu 
Porter Young | Workday | (208) 496-1710 | youngp@byui.edu 
Sam Eidam | Compensation | (208) 496-1713 | eidams@byui.edu  

Services Offered

Benefits 

  • New Employee Orientation
  • Benefits counseling
  • Retirement counseling and enrollment
  • Employee service awards and gifts
  • Professional development assistance for administrative and staff employees
  • Tuition waivers for campus employees and their families

Compensation

  • Job description writing, revising, evaluation, and pay rates
  • Compensation analysis, reports, and annual increases
  • Faculty contracts

Employment

  • Preliminary interviews of job applicants
  • Training and coaching on "interviewing" and "hiring"
  • Hiring for faculty, administration, and staff
  • Hiring for temporary employees
  • Hiring for student employees
  • Moving coordination and reimbursement

Employee Relations

  • Discipline and Discharge
  • Work-related concerns
  • Crucial Conversations Training

Training and Development

  • Training for managers and supervisors
  • "The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People" training
  • Employee training on human relations, conflict resolution, effective teams, etc.
  • Human Resources webpage 

Workday

  • Human Resources Information System
  • Workday coordination with BYU-Hawaii and Ensign College