Access Control Lists

Access Control Lists Permissions in Equella are dictated by access control lists, or ACLs. An ACL in Equella defines what items, tasks, and functionalities are available to Equella users, and therefore grants privileges to, or revokes privileges from, those users. There is a hierarchy of ACLs, with each ACL slowly increasing in the amount of privileges they allow.

These ACLs are:

Institution – Allows users all privileges.

Collection – Allows users all privileges within a specific “collection.”

Item – Allows users specific and manually-selected privileges.

Role – Allows users all privileges within a specific role.

Content Management

A user’s role typically determines which permissions and privileges they are given.

Some roles might include:

Creator – Responsible for content creation and editing.

Editor – Responsible for refining content to the standards defined by the project’s client.

Publisher – Responsible for releasing content for public use.

Administrator – Responsible for managing ACLs for content and users.

User – Responsible for reading or otherwise consuming published content.