1999 Alumni Honorees

Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee, Amy Price DeMordaunt (91).  Amy was the national junior college champion in the 400 meter hurdles in 1987, setting a new national record a 1:01.68.  She was named Ideal Female Athlete at Ricks in 1988.

Amy DeMordaunt

Athletic Hall of Fame Inductee, Fotu Katoa (85).  Fotu broke three school records as a wide receive for the 1985 Viking football team.  He was third nationally in pass receptions and sixth in individual scoring with 88 points. Fotu Katoa

The Alumni Athlete of the Year is Ryan Pond  (97).   Ryan led the nation in home runs (23) as a senior at BYU. He batted .340 as a second baseman. He was signed by the Anaheim Angels and played second base last summer for the Cedar Rapids Iowa Kernels in the Midwest League.

Ryan Pond

The Distinguished Alumni Award: for Humanitarian Service to Myrdean Roseborough Smith  (68) of Rexburg, a homemaker and community health nurse and 30-year veteran of the nursing profession.

Myrdean Smith

The Distinguished Alumni Award:  for Professional Accomplishment to Allen C. Ostergar, Jr.  (61) of Provo, Utah, Administrative Director of Training, Proselyting and Support Services for the Missionary Department of the LDS Church who started his involvement with the Missionary Training Center in 1963 as a foreign language teacher.

Allen Ostergar, Jr.

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award: Art Rascon  (81) of Houston, Texas, a television reporter and writer who co-anchors Houston's ABC affiliate KTRK-TV 13 Eyewitness News "Live at 5" program. He previously was with CBS News in Miami, Fla., covering news events throughout Mexico, South and Central America, the Caribbean and the southeast United States.

Art Rascon

The Eliza R. Snow Award for the Performing  and Fine Arts: Ronda Holm Wood (63) of Idaho Falls, Idaho, has been the principal conductor of the popular "Sounds" choir that has produced a Broadway musical each summer since 1976 and performs throughout Idaho, Utah and Wyoming.

Ronda Wood

The Outstanding Teacher Award to J. Dee O'Brien  (71) of Driggs, Idaho, a teacher and coach at Teton High School for over 20 years. He is president of the Sixth District Coaches Association and served six terms as president of the Teton County Education Association.

J. Dee O'brien

The Distinguished Emeritus Service Award:   Charles 'Tiny' and Gay Grant of Rexburg.  Charles Grant was a coach, teacher and administrator at Ricks for 27 years. His wife taught English part-time for the same number of years

Charles & Gay Grant

The Distinguished Emeritus Service Award:  LaRae Pickett King Clarke  (BA 51) of Rexburg.  Sister Clarke is the widow of former Ricks College president John L. Clarke (1944-1971).

LaRae Clarke

The Presidential Service Award: Michael Bumstead   (70) and his wife, Diane, of Enumclaw, Wash., and Steven  (66) and Jacqueline Bean Bumstead  (67) of Newcastle, Wash., were honored in April.

Michael & Diane Bumstead

Steven & Jacqueline Bumstead


Table of Contents