We want to hear from you!

BYU-Idaho values suggestions and ideas that can improve the university.
Use our Feedback Form to let us know what you think.

Brigham Young University Logo

Coretta Scott King Award

Coretta Scott King Award Winners

The Coretta Scott King Award is presented by the American Library Association to African-American authors and illustrators for books written about the African-American experience for a K-12 audience.

For a list that includes King Honor books, please click on this link.

Printable version

Year Award Author/Illustrator Title Call #
2013 Author Award Andrea Davis Pinkney Hand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America Juv E185.86 .P56 2012
2013 Illustrator Award Bryan Collier I, Too, Am America Juv PZ8.3 .H8664 It 2012
2012 Author Award Kadir Nelson Heart and Soul Juv E185 .N427 2011
2012 Illustrator Award Shane Evans Underground Juv E450 .E94 2011
2011 Author Award Rita Williams-Garcia One Crazy Summer Juv PZ7.W6713 On 2010
2011 Illustrator Award Bryan Collier Dave the Potter Juv NK4210.D247 H55
2010 Author Award Vaunda Micheaux Nelson Bad News for Outlaws Juv F697.R44 N45
2010 Illustrator Award Charles R. Smith Jr. My People Juv PS3515.U274 M9
2009 Author Award Kadir Nelson We Are the Ship   Juv GV875.N35 N45
2009 Illustrator Award Floyd Cooper The Blacker the Berry Juv PS3570.H565 B53
2008 Author Award Christopher Paul Curtis Elijah of Buxton Juv PZ7.C94137 El
2008 Illustrator Award Ashley Bryan Let it Shine Juv BV353 .L48
2007 Author Award Sharon Draper Copper Sun Juv PZ7.D78325 Cop
2007 Illustrator Award Kadir Nelson Moses: When Harriet Tubman Led Juv E444.T82 W43
2006 Author Award Julius Lester Day of Tears   Juv PZ7.L5629 Da 
2006 Illustrator Award Bryan Collier Rosa Juv F334.M753 P38427
2005 Author Award Toni Morrison Remember: The Journey to School Integration Juv LC214.2 .M67
2005 Illustrator Award Kadir A. Nelson Ellington Was Not a Street Juv PS3569.H3324 E45
2004 Author Award Angela Johnson The First Part Last Juv PZ7.J629 Fi
2004 Illustrator Award Ashley Bryan Beautiful Blackbird Juv PZ8.1.B838 Bg
2003 Author Award Nikki Grimes Bronx Masquerade Juv PZ7.G88429 Br
2003 Illustrator Award E. B. Lewis Talkin' About Bessie Juv TL540.C646 G75 
2002 Author Award Mildred Taylor The Land Juv PZ7.T21723 Lan
2002 Illustrator Award Jerry Pinkney Goin' Someplace Special Juv PZ7.M478693 Go
2001 Author Award Jacqueline Woodson Miracle's Boys Juv PZ7.W868 Mi
2001 Illustrator Award Bryan Collier Uptown Juv PZ7.C67759 Up
2000 Author Award Christopher Paul Curtis Bud, Not Buddy Juv PZ7.C94137 Bu
2000 Illustrator Award Brian Pinkney In the Time of the Drums  
1999 Author Award Angela Johnson Heaven Juv PZ7.J629 He
1999 Illustrator Award Michele Wood I see the rhythm Juv ML3556.I48
1998 Author Award Sharon M. Draper Forged by Fire Juv PZ7.D78325Fo
1998 Illustrator Award Javaka Steptoe   In Daddy's Arms I am Tall Juv PS591.N4B46
1997 Author Award Walter Dean Myers Slam Juv PZ7.M992 Sl
1997 Illustrator Award Jerry Pinkney Minty: A Story of Young Harriet Tubman  
1996 Author Award Virginia Hamilton Her Stories Juv GR111.A47H35
1996 Illustrator Award Tom Feelings The Middle Passage: White Ships Black Cargo ND237.F32A4
1995 Author Award Patricia C. and Fred L. McKissack Christmas in the Big House, Christmas in the Quarters  
1995 Illustrator Award James Ransome The Creation  
1994 Author Award Angela Johnson Toning the Sweep  
1994 Illustrator Award Tom Feelings Soul Looks Back in Wonder  
1993 Author Award Patricia A. McKissack Dark Thirty: Southern Tales of the Supernatural Juv PZ7.M478693 Dar
1993 Illustrator Award Kathleen Atkins Wilson The Origin of Life on Earth: An African Creation Myth  
1992 Author Award Walter Dean Myers Now is Your Time: The African American Struggle for Freedom  
1992 Illustrator Award Faith Ringgold Tar Beach Juv PZ7.R4726Tar
1991 Author Award Mildred Taylor The Road to Memphis  
1991 Illustrator Award Leo and Diane Dillon Aida Juv ML3930.V4 P7
1990 Author Award Patricia C. & Frederick L. McKissack A Long Hard Journey HD8039.R37 U46
1990 Illustrator Award Jan Spivey Gilchrist Nathaniel Talking  
1989 Author Award Walter Dean Myers Fallen Angels Juv PZ7.M992 Fal
1989 Illustrator Award Jerry Pinkney   Mirandy & Brother Wind Juv PZ7.M478693 Mi
1988 Author Award Mildred L. Taylor The Friendship Juv PZ7.T21723 Fr
1988 Illustrator Award John Steptoe Mufaro's Beautiful Daughters   Juv PZ7.S585Mu
1987 Author Award Mildred Pitts Walter Justin and the Best Biscuits in the World  
1987 Illustrator Award Jerry Pinkney Half a Moon and One Whole Star  
1986 Author Award Virginia Hamilton The People Could Fly: American Black Folktales  
1986 Illustrator Award Jerry Pinkney The Patchwork Quilt Juv PZ7.F667Pat
1985 Author Award Walter Dean Myers Motown and Didi: a Love Story  
1985 Illustrator Award No Award
1984 Author Award Lucille Clifton Everett Anderson's Good-bye Juv PZ8.3.C573 Evh
1984 Illustrator Award Pat Cummings My Mama Needs Me  
1983 Author Award Virginia Hamilton Sweet Whispers, Brother Rush Juv PZ7.H1828 Sw
1983 Illustrator Award Peter Magubane Black Child  
1982 Author Award Mildred D. Taylor Let the Circle Be Unbroken Juv PZ7.T21723
1982 Illustrator Award John Steptoe Mother Crocodile: An Uncle Amadou Tale from Senegal  
1981 Author Award Sidney Poitier This Life PN2287.P57A37
1981 Illustrator Award Ashley Bryan Beat the Story Drum, Pum-Pum Juv PZ8.1.B838 Be
1980 Author Award Walter Dean Myers The Young Landlords  
1980 Illustrator Award Carole Byard Cornrows  
1979 Author Award Ossie Davis Escape to Freedom Online
1979 Illustrator Award Tom Feelings Something On My Mind