The Society meets Wednesday evenings at 7PM in Taylor 120.

Winter 2017 Semester Schedule:

Date Type Rooms Presenters Extra info
Jan 18 Agora 120, 249, 248 Chris Allison, Brent Schmit
Jan 25 Student Skills and Workshops 120, 249, 248 Josh Heaton, Wellesley Shumway
Feb 1 Symposium 120 Murry Hunt
Feb 8 Agora 120, 249, 248 Robert Bird, Brian Pyper
Feb 15 Social 160
Feb 22 Student Skills and Workshops 120, 249, 248 TBA
Mar 1 Symposium 120 TBA
Mar 8 Agora 120, 249, 248 Jason Hunt, Jason Williams
Mar 15 Student Skills and Workshops 120, 249, 248 TBA
Mar 22 Symposium 120 Rick Neff
Mar 29 Social 160

The purpose of this Society is:

* To increase the skills and abilities of students interested in philosophy by practicing and exercising critical and philosophical thinking, and by informing and introducing those new to the study of philosophy to the methods of philosophy as an academic and personal discipline.

* To provide an avenue of learning not just for students, but for faculty and the University at large, and to encourage interdisciplinary dialogue on relevant philosophical topics so as to create a University-wide forum.

* To promote discourse with other institutions of higher learning by promoting debate and an exchange of ideas with professors and students of other Universities.

* To provide a safe, wholesome atmosphere for individuals to discuss philosophical topics with students of common interests, and form friendships based on the love and pursuit of wisdom.

President: Josh Heaton

Webmaster: Hilton Shumway