Exemplary Faculty Award

The Exemplary Faculty Award is presented at the Faculty Banquet each year.  Members of the Best Practices Committee solicit recommendations from each of the department chairs in their respective colleges.  These nominees are then passed on to the college deans and then the award recipients are narrowed to two or four per college to be approved by the President's Executive Group.

Nominees must be in at least their third year of teaching and should show demonstrated effort and excellence in one or more of the following categories:

  • Scholarship of Learning and Teaching: Working to help students and faculty learn more effectively and proactively.
  • Campus Citizenship:  Serving staff, faculty and students in a charitable manner across campus.
  • Professional Development: Learning continually about faculty disciplines and quality teaching.
  • Campus Outreach: Reaching beyond our boundaries by serving and expanding the awareness of BYU-Idaho's unique mission.

Description of criteria

At the faculty banquet, recipients have traditionally been presented a golden apple while a short description of their efforts was shared.   The Faculty Association originated the award which has been awarded in various formats over the years.

2013 Recipients

D.J. Teichert, Kristin Ballou, Jay Keller, Jim Hopla, Susan Garbett, Sharlene Lewis, Kimball Galbriath, Spencer Haacke, Kerry Webb, Byron Webster, Ron Anderson, Steve Stokes, Jerald Gee, Anne Papworth, Scott Samuelson, Jason Flora, Brooks Haderlie, Joshua Abegglen, Ted Ashton, Justin Bates, Brian Call, David Collins, Jill Lundell, Wayne Startin, Garth Miller.

2012 Recipients

Steven Hay, Lon Pyper, Joyce Anderson, Kathleen Gordon, Suzette Gee, Dan Pearce, Kristen Glenn, Sarah Baird, Darryl Foutz, Ronald Nate, Rex Barzee, Carol Waite, Steven Christenson, John Zenger, Kerry Powell, Jean Shippen, Reed Nielson, Kevin Twitchell, Kevin Kelley, Cynthia Goodsell, Vince Bodily, Jennifer Wadsworth, Bill Holman, Nadine Luke.

2011 Recipients 

Jo Anne Kay, Terry Call, Kathy Jo Cook, Gary Shenton, Scott Franson, Wendy Bone, Nolan Parson, Tim Tanner, Drew Eagar, Lee Barney, Delaina Scholes, Justin Miller, James Helfrich, Danae Romrell, Ron Kinville, Steve Hunsaker, Vaun Waddell, Phil Murdock, Christy Owens, Daniel Dewey, Larry Shaw, and Mike Sweet