This article has information about how to share your Outlook calendar, who you should share your calendar with, how to access a shared calendar, and what delegates are.


Sharing Your Electronic Calendar

1. Go to your myBYUI account and click the Email tab to access your email.

2. Click App Launcher in the top-left corner.

3. Click Calendar.

4. A list of available calendars will appear. Click the calendar you wish to share.

5. Click Share in the top bar.


Who to Share With

Be sure to only share your calendar with people (e.g. username@byui.edu) or roles (e.g. departmentRole@byui.edu), not mailboxes (e.g. department@byui.edu).


Accessing a Shared Calendar

You will receive an email informing you that a calendar has been shared with you. Click Open Calendar in the email.


Delegates

“Delegates” in Outlook work similarly to office assistants that handle paper mail. When someone is listed as your delegate, they are able to receive and respond to emails and meeting requests on your behalf. To make someone a delegate for your account:

1. Click the File tab in Outlook.

2. Click Account Settings.

3. Click Delegate Access.

4. Click Add.

5. Type in the name of the person you wish to make into a delegate, or enter the name into the search bar and then select it from the results list.

6. Click Add, then click OK.

7. A box will pop up asking you what kind of permissions you want to give your delegate. You may either choose to continue with the default settings, or you can manually change them to fit your needs.

8. Click the check box next to Automatically send a message to delegate summarizing these permissions to send an email to your delegate informing them of their delegate status.

9. Click OK to finalize the process.


Permissions

The personal details your delegates can view about you will vary depending on what permissions you give them. Permissions you may set include:

Availability Only: This permission shows that you have an event at a particular time, but no further information.

Limited Details: This permission will show the time, name, and location of the event.

Full Details: This permission will show all information about all events on your calendar, except for any that you might have marked as Private.

Editor: This permission allows delegates to read and create calendar items on your behalf, and to change and/or delete items they create.


Changing a Delegate's Permissions

1. Click File.

2. Click Account Settings.

3. Click Delegate Access.

4. Choose the delegate you wish to change permissions for, then click Permissions

5. A box will pop up asking you what kind of permissions you want to give your delegate. Use this pop up to determine what permissions you wish to give the delegate.

6. Click the check box next to Automatically send a message to delegate summarizing these permissions to send an email to your delegate informing them of their delegate status.

7. Click OK to finalize the process.