Step 1: Expectations --> Step 2: Find an Internship --> Step 3: Approve Your Internship

Available Internships

Working for Families

The focus here is that the work you do in your internship will not involve physically being with families, but instead take on a more indirect approach. Internships and careers that allow you to work for families can provide experiences where you are advocating, researching, or participating in identification work regarding issues related to family science and similar fields.

Working with Families

Internships that allow you to work with families give you more hands-on experience. Examples include working at orginizations that help families, clinics, and other family related services.Specific areas of working with families can include...

  • Individuals
  • Couples
  • Families

*Working at a daycare or preschool facility is NOT an approvable internship for marriage and family studies students.

Find an Internship

Below is a small list of internships available to you. However, this list does not contain all possible internships. Feel free to look for other opportunities that meet the basic requirements mentioned in the “Expectations” section of this site.

  • United Way (Utah County, Utah) | Provo, Utah
    Open Positions (apply by March 4th) Community Programs Assistant, Summer Learning Program Liaison, Community Garden Coordinator, and Grant Writer/Outreach Specialist. Send a cover letter and resume to her email address.
    Sandra Cannon
    801.691.5319
    sandrac@unitedwayuc.org
  • Journeys | Rexburg and Idaho Falls, ID
    Skill Training and Inclusion for Special Needs Kids
    Andy Crossman
    208.709.0537
    info@journeysdda.com
  • Millennials for Marriage (Online Internship)
    Marriage Advocacy and Education
    Jenn Murff
    757.395.7607
    jenn@thehitchfix.com
  • Educate Empower Kids (Online Internship)
    Online Family Life Education and Advocacy
    Dina Alexander
    505.859.3763
    dina@educateempowerkids.org
  • MARRI (Online Internship)
    Marriage and Religion Research Institute
    Pat Fagan
    202.624.3019
    pff@frc.org
  • The Becket Fund | Washington D.C.
    Religious Liberty Law Firm
    Stephanie Barclay
    202.349.7204
    sbarclay@becketfund.org
  • Utah Youth Village | Salt Lake City, UT
    Family Life Education & Advocacy
    Wayne Arner
    801.272.9980
  • Arizona Family Institute | Gilbert, AZ
    Parent education, therapy services, working with teens and children, social media and website development
    Dan Oakes
    480.382.1257
    danoakeslpc@gmail.com
  • Family Crisis Center | Rexburg, ID
    Women's shelter for domestic violence
    Margie Harris
    208.356.8807
    crisis@ida.net
  • Idaho Parents Unlimited | Boise, ID
    Parent education pertaining to stress and coping techniques
    Lana Gonzales
    208.342.5884
    lana@ipulidaho.org
  • University of Idaho Extension (Madison Co.) | Rexburg, ID
    Extension Activities: Assist with 4-H and other programs
    Kandee Boice
    208.356.3191
    kboice@co.madison.id.us
  • Domestic Violence Intervention Center | Idaho Falls, ID
    Domestic violence center
    Amy Kaiser
    208.529.4352
    akaiser@co.bonneville.id.us
  • Green Valley Mortuary | Rescue, CA
    Help families who have recently lost loved ones
    Dennis Hamilton

    dennis.hamilton@rocketmail.com
  • United Families International | SLC, UT
    Advocate for families on an international level
    Laura Bunker
    801.815.5062
    bunker8676@msn.com
  • United Families Utah | SLC, UT
    Advocate for families with a focus on Utah policy
    Rose Marie Murra

    rose@gardenway.org
  • Box Elder Family Support Center | Brigham City, UT
    Parent and family life education, assist families in accessing resources
    Katy Bonds

    fsckaty@qwestoffice.net
  • Happy Wives Club | Online
    Promote happy marriages
    Fawn Weaver

    Fawn@happywivesclub.com
  • Dibble Institute for Marriage Education | Online
    Promote healthy marriages
    Aaron Larson
    866-321-2665
    aaron@healthymarriage.org
  • Single Sisters Should Know | online
    Marketing internship, Pornography Prevention


    singlesistersshouldknow@gmail.com
  • Innovative Health Care Concepts, Inc. | Idaho Falls, ID
    Involves working with developmental disabilities and mental illness
    Lisa Smith
    208.523.1130 (ext. 12)
    lisasmith@ihccinc.com
  • Centerpoint Counseling Services | Rexburg, ID
    Office assistant and transcriber at counseling clinic
    Geoff Winfree
    208.359.4840
    mail@centerpointcounseling.com
  • Citizens For Decency | Rexburg, ID (& online)
    Pornography Prevention and Recovery
    Bronson Herrera
    774.275.7232
    citizens4decency@gmail.com
  • American College of Pediatricians | Online
    Online Blogging
    Lisa Hawkins
    352.376.1877
    admin@acpeds.org
  • Sutherland Institute | Salt Lake City,Utah
    Advocacy and Family Policy
    Amanda Myer
    801.355.1272
  • World Congress of Family | Salt Lake City, Utah
    Advocacy and Family Policy
    Janice Crouse
    801.355.1272
    janice@wcf9.org
  • Addo Recovery | Online
    Use social media to promote pornography addiction and betrayal trauma recovery
    Danny Jackson
    801.673.6138
    danny@addorecovery.com
  • National Organization for Marriage | Online, DC
    Advocate for Marriage and Family

    888.894.3604
    contact@nationformarriage.org
  • Family Research Council | Washington DC
    Advocate for Marriage and Family

    800.225.4008
  • Marriage and Religion Research Institute | Washington, DC

    877.372.2808
  • Liberty Institute | Plano, Texas, Remote, Online
    Family Policy, Religious Freedom, Advocacy

    972.941.4444
    info@libertyinstitute.org
  • National Right to Life | Online, Remote Locations
    Family Advocacy
    Derrick Jones
    202.378.8853
    djones@nrlc.org
  • National Center on Sexual Exploitation | DC,Online
    Pornography Prevention

    202.393.7245
  • Division of Human Resources | Idaho, Other states
    Human Resources


    idhr@dhr.idaho.gov
  • Marriage and Family Therapy Program of U of N | Las Vegas, Remote Locations
    Teaching/Research Assistant Internship
    Stephen Fife
    702.895.3117
    stephen.fife@unlv.edu
  • Rigby High School Counseling Department | Rigby, Idaho
    School Counseling Internships
    Don Fryberger
    208.745.7704 x3522
    dfryberger@sd251.org
  • Family Watch International | Gilbert, Arizona (online also may be available)
    "Promoting family based solutions through education and policy making. We strengthen families, serve the interest of children and provide the best outcome for men/women worldwide."
    Kathleen George
    602.820.0898
    fwi.kathleen@cox.net
  • Access Point Family Services | Idaho Falls, Pocatello
    Tammera
    208.522.4026
    tammera@accesspointkids.com
  • Mentor Works | Riverton, Utah
    Promote healthy family formation and enrichment across the life course.

    801-679-3921
    info@mwut.org
  • Edward Callirgos MAS, LMFT |  Tempe, AZ 
    The Bridge Counseling, Consulting & Mediation, LLC.                                                                                                                           480-203-7165
                                                                                                                                                                                             www.thebridgeccm.com
  • International Voice for Youth | Online
    Kelli Houghton
    kelli.houghton@gmail.com

Next Step

Step 1: Expectations --> Step 2: Find an Internship --> Step 3: Approve Your Internship