John Taylor Building
The Taylor Building was named after the 3rd President of the Church, whom Joseph Smith referred to as the “Defender of the Faith.” He moved west with the Saints, arriving in the Salt Lake Valley in the fall of 1847. He was again active in civic affairs, serving in the territorial legislature, as a judge, and as territorial superintendent of schools.
- The ‘Rogers Pipe Electronic Combination’ organ was custom built for the Taylor Chapel. It has nine ranks of authentic pipe and 50 electronic voices. It is one of nine organs on campus.
- The Building was highlighted in August 1997 (the same year it was completed) in American School & University as part of Educational Interior Showcase, a program honoring educational interior design excellence.
- The Taylor Chapel is lined with religious art work generously donated to the college by a student from California.